Hebi Ichigo (Mock Strawberry)

By murniramli

May 13, 2012

Category: shrubs

Leave a Comment »

Classification :

Kingdom : Plantae

Order : Rosales

Family : Rosaceae

Genus : Potentilla

Species : Potentilla indica or Duchesnea indica

I found this shrubs when I was doing my doctoral program in Nagoya University Japan. The red small fruit contrasts with the green surrounding. It looks like a true strawberry, but leaves, fruit, and  flower are a bit differ. I haven’t try its flavour, but my friend told me it is edible tasteless fruit. Japanese calls it “hebi ichigo” or the strawberry for snake.

In some region, mock strawberry have been domesticated as an ornamental plant. However, in some places, it is considered as a noxious weed.

Leave a Reply

